

Contact: Lynne Harris, ASPET Director, Marketing and Communications <u>Iharris@aspet.org</u> 301-804-7568 (c)

December 19, 2023

For Immediate Release

ASPET Announces the 2024 Washington Fellows

ROCKVILLE, MD — The American Society of Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics (ASPET) has chosen 10 recipients for the 2024 <u>ASPET Washington Fellows Program</u>. The fellows, who are early-career scientists with an interest in science policy, will learn about and be more engaged in public policy issues. They will also learn how decisions made in Washington, D.C. impact science policy nationwide, and how to advocate effectively on Capitol Hill and in their home districts. To date, ASPET has supported more than 100 fellows through this program, which was established in 2013.

For the 2024 Washington Fellows, congratulations go to:

- Kalyanasundar Balasubramanian, PhD, The Ohio State University
- Alison Bashford, Drexel University
- Nina Beltran, The University of Texas at El Paso
- Santina Johnson, University of South Alabama
- Sarah Melton, Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center
- Tamara Morris, Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center
- Makenzie Patarino, University of Washington
- Anh Phan, PhD, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
- Shwetal Talele, University of California, Irvine
- Hannah Work, University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus

About ASPET

The American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics is an international, 4,000member scientific society whose members conduct basic and clinical pharmacological research in academia, industry, and the government. Members' research efforts help develop new medicines and therapeutic agents to fight existing and emerging diseases. ASPET supports 10 divisions, each of which is governed by an Executive Committee. ASPET members have access to all journal content. The ASPET office is in Rockville, Md. Visit <u>aspet.org</u> to learn more.